Awards ceremony: 1st March 2019

Winners 2018

Innovation Award

Winner: Michael Miller, Miller Care Group

Sponsored by:

Second: Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust Adult Critical Care Tissue Viability Team
Third: Wound Reference Team

Innovation in Surgical Site Infection

Winner: Charmaine Childs, Sheffield Hallam University

Sponsored by:

Second: David Leaper, University of Huddersfield
Third: Kylie Sandy-Hodgetts, University of Western Australia and Joondalup Hospital, Perth

Innovation in Chronic Wound Healing

Winner: Paul Browning, SDMA

Sponsored by:

Second: Massimo Rivolo, Accelerate CIC Mile End Hospital
Third: Michael Stacey, McMaster University, Canada

Compression therapy for venous and lymphatic disorders

Winner: Leanne Atkin, Mid Yorks NHS Trust and University of Huddersfield

Sponsored by:

Second: Julie Mullings and the Wythenshawe Tissue Viability Team, Manchester University Foundation Trust
Third: Wilfried Jungkunz, Dermatologist and Lymphologist, Friedberg, Germany
Third: Justine Tansley, Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust

Infection and biofilm

Winner: Devendra Dusane, The Ohio State University

Sponsored by:

Second: Ojan Assadian, Vienna
Third: Vicky Forknall and Anita Kilroy Findley, Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust

Best diabetic foot intervention

Winner: Kevin Woo, Queen’s University, Canada

Second: Idevania Costa, School of Nursing, Queen’s University, Canada
Third: Aoife Ward, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Best clinical research

Winner: Kylie Sandy-Hodgetts, University of Western Australia and Joondalup Hospital, Perth

Second: Kimberley Le Blanc, Chair of the Canadian Association for Enterostomal Therapists (CAET) Scientific Academy
Second: Queensland University of Technology and University of Huddersfield Third: Michael Stacey, McMaster University and Hamilton Health Sciences

Cost-effective wound management

Winner: Julie Stanton, Healogics

Second: Melissa Blow, and The Vascular Team, Aneurin Beavan Health Board
Third: Suzana Aron, Federal University of São Paulo UNIFESP

Professional Education

Winner: Justine Whittaker, Northern Lymphology Ltd

Second: Vera Santos, School of Nursing, University of São Paulo
Third: Andrea Pokorná, Masaryk University, Faculty of Medicine, Dpt. of Nursing

Pressure Care

Winner: Heather Hodgson, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Second: Deborah Wickens and the multi-incident pressure ulcer group, Harold Hill Health Centre
Third: Melanie Stephens and Carol Bartley, University of Salford

Best laboratory/preclinical study

Winner: Natascia Mennini and Department of Chemistry, University of Florence

Second: Dana Egozi, Kaplan Medical Center, Israel
Third: Devendra Dusane, The Ohio State University

Best research from a developing country

Winner: Kshitij Shankhdhar, L.K. Diabetes Centre, Lucknow, India

Sponsored by:

Second: Basavraj Nagoba, Dr Arunkumar Rao and Dr Bharat Wadher, MIMSR Medical College, Latur
Third: Moses Murandu, University of Wolverhampton

Most innovative product

Winner: Bruin Biometrics

Sponsored by:

Second: Don Chapman, Executive Chairman, Kent Imaging
Third: TIVITA®, Diaspective Vision GmbH, Germany

Patient wellbeing

Winner: Michael Miller, Miller Care Group

Sponsored by:

Second: Luxmi Mohamud, Central & North West London NHS Foundation Trust
Third: Georgina Gethin and Alliance for Research and Innovation in Wounds, NUI Galway