The Journal of Wound Care Awards 2024 Shortlist

Congratulations to all of our finalists!

Best Research

Shawn Swanson, Graduate Research Assistant, Human Photonics Laboratory, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, US

Prof Kayvan Shokrollahi (MWL Teaching Hospital NHS Trust/University of Liverpool) , Alistair Hampden-Martin (University of Liverpool) & Prof Kathryn Whitehead (Manchester Metropolitan University)     

Carlos Alberto Alvarado Dumas, Medical Director, Binnovo

Best Diabetic Foot Intervention

Andrew Sharpe, Advanced Podiatrist, Salford Care Organisation

Jayne Robbie, senior lecturer/specialist podiatrist, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Trust/ Birmingham City University

Marco Meloni, Medical Doctor, PhD, Rome, University Hospital of Tor Vergata

Cost-effective Wound Management

Nicky Richardson, Lead Tissue Viability Clinical Nurse Specialist, Torbay & South Devon NHS FT

Nelson Pinto, Professor, University of the Andes-Chile

Ter-Er Kusu-Orkar, Plastic Surgery Registrar, Morriston Hospital

Innovative Dressing Technology Award

Tabatha Rando, Advanced Nurse Consultant - Plastics/Wound Management, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Laura Swoboda, Professor of Health Sciences, Family Nurse Practitioner, Medical College of Wisconsin and Waukesha County Technical College

Hans Smola, Medical Doctor, Professor of Dermatology, Department of Dermatology at the University of Cologne in Germany

Innovation in Chronic Wound Healing

Julian-Dario Rembe, , Senior Clinician Scientist / Assistenzarzt Klinik für Gefäß- und Endovaskularchirurgie, Klinik für Gefäß- und Endovaskularchirurgie Universitätsklinikum Düsseldorf

Mark Suski, Plastic Surgeon/Medical Director, Los Robles Hospital Center for Advanced Wound Healing

Gadi Borkow, Chief Scientist, MedCu Technologies

Innovation in Surgical Site Infection

Ziyad Gunga, chief resident in cardiac surgery, CHUV Lausanne university Hospital

Ross Lathan, Academic Clinical Fellow, Hull Royal Infirmary

Breast Dressings Team, The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust

Innovation in Wound Care Award

WoundReference & ELCOS Team

Mohammad Mohammad Amini, CEO and Founder, SENSOMATT                                                             

Community Tissue Viability Team Manchester University Foundation Trust

Pressure Care

Seyma Adibelli, Research Assistant, Hacettepe University Faculty of Nursing

Sumarno Adi Subrata PhD, Nursing Lecturer / PhD in Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences, Universitas Muhammadiyah Magelang, Central Java, Indonesia

Joan Enric Torra, PhD RD, Sapiens Consultants

Michelle Deeth New Talent Award

Nicole Dixon, TVN, Cumbria, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation

Helen Myers, South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust

Danielle Burnside, Skin Integrity Specialist nurse

Innovation in the Care Home or Home Care setting

Hannah Fulton, Tissue Viability Specialist Nurse, Buckinghamshire NHS Trust

Angela Proctor, South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust

Aila Evangelista, RGN, Atfield House

Advances in Infection and Biofilm Award

Abdulaziz Binkanan, Wound Care and Ostomy Lead, Riyadh Second Health Cluster, King Fahad Medical City

Mads Lichtenberg, Assistant Professor, University of Copenhagen

Ewa Stürmer, Univ. Prof. Dr. med. Surgical Director, Comprehensive Wound Center Head of Translational Wound Research

The Patient Activation Award

Karen Friett, Lymphoedema Support Network, Chief Executive

Ellie Lindsay, Life President, The Lindsay Leg Club Foundation        

Tracy Conroy, Specialist Lead - Tissue Viability, Local Community Partnerships CIC

The Cellular, Acellular and Matrix-like Products (CAMPs) Award

Eric Lullove, Chief Medical Officer, West Boca Center for Wound Healing

Shiva Akbarzadeh, Group Leader, Skin Bioengineering Laboratory, Alfred Health

American Professional Wound Care Association (APWCA)

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Award

Karly Harvey, Operational Clinical Lead Nurse, Swansea Bay Wound Care Service

Karen Staines, Director of Research and Wound Care, Accelerate CIC

Iva Pranjic, Clinical Nurse Specialist, St James's Hospital Dublin

The Most Progressive Society Award

Heather Hodgson, Lead Nurse Tissue Viability, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Malta Association of Skin and Wound Care

Laura Cappuyns, Senior Clinical Fellow in Burns and Plastic surgery, Mersey burn centre, Mersey and West Lancashire teaching hospitals NHS Trust